News: The Place Prize

Friday 29 January 2010

The Place Prize – the biennial choreography competition is back this year – with a top prize of £25,000 and a slightly different format.

This year 16 choreographers, instead of 20 in previous years, will be commissioned to make work which will be presented in preview and semi-final performances at The Place in September. The work which receives the highest audience vote will automatically go through to the final, with three others selected by a panel of judges. In another change of programme, the four companies will be funded to re-rehearse their works for the finals performances which will take place some months later at The Place in April 2011. Talking about the changes Eddie Nixon, Director of Theatre and Artist Development at The Place, said: The competition will be tougher, as we’re commissioning four less works, but there’s more money for the selected artists, and more flexibility about the work they create. None of this would be possible without Bloomberg’s continuing support, which is a wonderful endorsement of the vitality of The Place Prize. I’m looking forward to the best edition yet!”

By the end of this next round of The Place Prize, over £1million will have been invested in the creation of 78 new dance works. Winners in previous years have been: Rafael Bonachela (2004), Nina Rajarani (2006) and Adam Linder (2008). Finalists include Hofesh Shechter, Rosemary Butcher, Aletta Collins, Freddie Opoku Addaie and Dam Van Huynh.

Any UK-based choreographer can enter The Place Prize by submitting a three-minute video outlining an idea for an original dance work of up to 20 minutes in length. 16 entrants will be selected and given everything they need to create their new works: studio time, technical support and a commission fee of £5,000. The successful entrants will also be able to bid for up to £2,000 extra funding for their production costs.

The closing date for submissions this year is Friday 26 February 6pm.
For full details see

Image: Place Prize winners, from top: Adam Linder (2008), Nina Rajarani (2006), Rafael Bonachela (2004)

What’s On