News: The Place Prize for dance - commissions announced

Monday 14 May 2012 by Carmel Smith

The sixteen entrants (including a couple of teams) commissioned to make work for the fifth edition of The Place Prize for dance have just been announced. Their new work will be shown over several evenings at The Place in September, with three selected by a panel of dance specialists – and one by the audience – to take part in the finals in Spring 2013. They share a £100,000 commission fund – and will also get free production time and support from The Place Prize team to create the dance pieces over the summer. The winners were chosen from over 200 entries (the largest number ever received) and include practitioners in a wide range of contemporary dance forms – and several who have been commissioned for previous Place Prizes.

Commissioned artists:
Tony Adigun – the Artistic Director of Avant Garde Dance and a Work Place artist. As a dancer Tony has worked with artists such as Whitney Houston, Usher, Ashanti, as well as many leading UK artists. He was recently awarded the Marion North Mentoring Award to be mentored by Akram Khan.

Ben Ash – co-director of Dog Kennel Hill Project with Rachel Lopez de La Nieta and Henrietta Hale. He has been working in the field of dance, movement and performance since 1995, working across a broad spectrum of aesthetics and working practices. Ben Ash was commissioned for The Place Prize in 2006, for a piece co-choreographed with Rachel Lopez de La Nieta.

Riccardo Buscarini – a Place Prize Finalist in 2011, together with Antonio de la Fe Guedes, Italian choreographer Riccardo Buscarini is currently collaborating with knitwear designer Brooke Roberts, with whom he was Creative in Residence at The Hospital Club, London.
Seke Chimutengwende – works in improvisation and choreography, in large and small scale works and in cross-art performances as a dancer, maker and teacher.

Darren Ellis – director of Darren Ellis Dance, established in 2007, through which he has developed a series of works that have toured nationally, currently an Associate Artist at Danceeast.

Jonathan Goddard and Gemma Nixon both dance with Rambert and formed Goddard Nixon in 2009. The company has performed nationally and internationally, including gigs at Royal Opera House, Royal Court, The Victoria & Albert Museum, and The Place.

Hanna Gillgren and Heidi Rustgaard, the Artistic Directors of h2dance, have been working together since 2000, producing provocative performances addressing political and gender issues with humour and emotion.

Mamoru Iriguchi is a zoologist, a theatre designer and a multimedia performance maker. His work is informed by his knowledge in designing spaces for performance and an interest in 2D and 3D. Iriguchi’s work explores issues of gender, sexuality, symbiosis and parasitism, fairytales and evolution theories.

Nina Kov – was Associate Artist at Dance Digital in 2010-11, with the artists’ collective Hellicar & Lewis. Her primary interest is to explore the possibilities of expression of the unconscious in dance within live digital performances. She performed her latest work Divide by Zero at The Place during Resolution! 2012.

Joe Moran – choreographer, dancer and Artistic Director of Dance Art Foundation. Joe creates dance performances, film and installations for public spaces, and his work is informed by the analysis of choreography as a practice reflecting on embodiment, perception of time, and structural intervention.

Rick Nodine – after completing a degree in Biology, Rick studied Contact Improvisation and began a performing career. In 2001, he became a member of staff at London Contemporary Dance School where he teaches Composition and Improvisation. For the past 12 years he has collaborated with many dancers, actors and musicians to create improvised performance.

Neil Paris – the Artistic Director of SMITH dancetheatre, works as a maker, performer and teacher, and was a former member of Fabulous Beast Dance Theatre, with whom he toured internationally, earning three Olivier Awards nominations.

Eva Recacha – a Place Prize Finalist in 2011 and currently a Work Place artist. Her choreographic practice is focused on exploring ways of relating movement and text, creating works that are poetic and humorous, juxtaposing both media to create a sense of misplacement.
Moreno Solinas – a performer with Bonachela Dance Company, DV8 Physical Theatre, Stan Won’t Dance, and Earthfall before starting to make his own work with BLOOM! Collective, founded in 2007. He is currently a Work Place artist.

Robbie Synge was previously a physiologist before pursuing a career in dance, film and animation. He has worked as a dance artist across the UK, and he is working as associate artist with Frank McConnell and plan B dance company in Ross-shire.

Ben Wright is an independent choreographer and director working in contemporary dance, opera and theatre at national and international level. He is the Artistic Director of bgroup company, which he founded in 2008. He was commissioned for The Place Prize in 2006 and 2008.

The Place Prize was launched in 2004 and runs biennially, with the continued support of Bloomberg, When this summer’s works have been created The Place Prize for dance will have seen the creation of 92 pieces of new choreography, with an investment of over £1.2million. Previous winners include Rafael Bonachela (2004), Nina Rajarani (2006), Adam Linder (2008) and Ben Duke and Raquel Meseguer (2011).

Preview performances: Thu 6 to Thu 13 September 2012
Semi-final performances: Sat 15 to Sat 22 September 2012
Finals: Spring 2013
Tickets will be on sale from June

Leave a comment

You must be signed in to post comments.

Sign in now

What’s On