News: The Place Prize 2008 Call for Entries

Friday 23 November 2007

The third Place Prize for choreography takes place in September 2008 – and entries are now being accepted.

Over £140,000 is awarded in commissioning work by the choreographers selected and in prize money. Rafael Bonachela won the first Place Prize in 2004 and was followed by Nina Rajarani in 2006.

The competition is open to all professional choreographers working in the UK. Entrants submit a three-minute video outlining an original idea for a new work, of which 20 are chosen to receive a commission award of £5000 to create their 15-minute piece. The dance works will be premiered at The Place in London in September 2008. Five will then be chosen to compete for £10,000 of audience-voted prizes. Following the final performance, a panel of judges will award the grand prize of £25,000 to the winner.

The deadline for submission of entry videos is 5pm on Thursday 31 January 2008. The 20 commissioned choreographers will be announced in April 2008. In addition to their commission fees, the choreographers will be given studio time and technical support to create their new works during the summer months prior to the competition. The performances, held in The Place’s Robin Howard Dance Theatre, will take place in September 2008, with the overall winner announced following the final performance on Saturday 27 September.

More details

What’s On