News: The Place Choreodrome 2005

Friday 6 May 2005

Former resident artists Jonathan Burrows, Carol Brown and Colin Poole are returning to The Place along with 34 other contemporary dance artists chosen to take part in Choreodrome, The Place’s biennial Summer research project, running from 18 July to 25 September this year.

Choreodrome takes place in alternate years to The Place Prize, which was first held in 2004. In contrast to the latter, which is a performance competition for original choreographic works, Choreodrome provides free space and support for choreographers, dance film makers and dance artists to develop their ideas, without the pressure of delivering an end product.

The freedom that Choreodrome affords allows both established and emerging choreographers to explore new artistic territory. Burrows, well known for his small scale, intimate works, will be working with composer Matteo Fargion and 15 performers to research possible approaches towards making a large scale piece. Carol Brown will be working between live and mediated images collaborating with a traditional Maori dancer from her native New Zealand, and Colin Poole with circus performers.

Participants were selected through open application on the basis of the strength of their research proposal and their ability to contribute to the rich and dynamic creative community at The Place during the project. Several of the chosen artists’ proposals are cross-artform collaborations, including dance filmmaker Miranda Pennell, choreographer Stephanie Schober collaborating with composer John-Marc Gowans, designer Joanna Parker and integrated dance specialist Louise Katerega.

The Place’s current Choreographers in Residence Mayuri Boonham and Subathra Subramaniam of Angika*will also be taking part, along with *Associate Artists Jean Abreu, Frauke Requardt, Hofesh Shechter and renowned lighting designer Michael Hulls, working with longterm collaborator Russell Maliphant.

Full list of participants: Jean Abreu, Temitope Ajose-Cutting, Mayuri Boonham & Subathra Subramaniam, Carol Brown, Jonathan Burrows, Sara Crow, Rachel Davies, Sarah Dowling,Ben Duke, Andreas Dyrdal, Yael Flexer, Hanna Gillgren, Antonia Grove, Henrietta Hale, Jemima Hoadley, Michael Hulls & Russell Maliphant, Louise Katerega, Rachel Lopez de la Nieta, Nadine MacLean, Sue MacLennan, Sally Marie, Tim Morris, Rick Nodine, Frederick Opoku-Addaie, Joanna Parker, Miranda Pennell, Colin Poole, Frauke Requardt, Ana Sanchez-Colberg, Stephanie Schober, Hofesh Shechter, Rashpal Singh Bansal, Thomas Small, Bawren Tavaziva, Deborah Tiso, Satu Tuomisto, Rahel Vonmoos


What’s On