News: One Dance UK Awards - The Winners

Tuesday 27 November 2018

Susan Calman wins Dance Personality of the Year at the One Dance UK Awards.

The winners of the first ever dance sector-wide awards were announced on Saturday 24 November at the One Dance UK Awards ceremony at Leeds Beckett university.

One Dance UK hosted shortlisted nominees, sponsors, supporters and leading lights from the dance sector for an evening of celebration – a moment where the entire sector came together to applaud the talented professionals and practitioners working in dance today.

The winners of the 23 categories are as follows:

Dance Personality of the Year Award
Susan Calman

Best use of Dance by a Brand Award
Reed – Love Mondays

Jane Attenborough Award
Sponsored by Gordon & Co
Jacky Lansley

Dance of the African Diaspora Lifetime Achievement Award
Supported by Derrick Anderson
Maxine Brown

People’s Choice Award
Dance Action Zone Leeds

Lifetime Achievement in Dance Education and Learning Award
Sponsored by Harlequin
Marion Gough

Outstanding Dance Programming Award
Sponsored by ISTD
Serendipity – LDIF

Research in Dance – Impact Award
Sponsored by Northern School of Contemporary Dance
Professor Matthew Wyon – Dance Science at University of Wolverhampton

Dance Healthcare Team Award
Sponsored by Fusion Sport Europe Ltd
London Contemporary Dance School

Dance Healthcare Practitioner Award
Supported by the Laws family
Karolin Krell – Osteopath and Physiotherapist

Dance Science Award
Sponsored by Birmingham Royal Ballet
Professor Matthew Wyon – Dance Science at University of Wolverhampton

Inspirational Community Dance Practitioner Award
Sponsored by Leeds City College
Rachel Liggitt – Shropshire

Dance Advocacy Award
Sponsored by Northern School of Contemporary Dance
Caroline Bowditch – Advocate and agent for change for access for disabled people in dance

Leeds Dance Partnership Award
Sponsored by Leeds Dance Partnership
Ian Rodley – Dance Action Zone Leeds

Outstanding Primary Dance Teaching Award
Sponsored by Dancewear Central
Lucy Seymour – Tannery Drift First School

Outstanding Secondary Dance Teaching Award
Geoff Lake – LeAF Studio School Bournemouth

Rising Star Award for Dance Teaching
Shaun Dillon – Suffolk

Dance Writing Award
Judith Mackrell

Innovation in Dance Award
Step Change Studios

Dance on Screen – Impact Award
Candoco Dance Company

Most Supportive Senior Leader or Governor Award
David Stewart – Oak Field School, Nottingham

Inspirational Lecturer at College, University or Conservatoire
Rosemary Brandt – Trinity Laban Conservatoire of Music and Dance

Inspirational Work in Education (organisations)

The One Dance UK Awards 2019 categories will be announced in early 2019.

What’s On