News: Olivier Awards 2007

Monday 19 February 2007

The Olivier Awards 2007 were announced last night (18 February).

The Outstanding Achievement in Dance award went to Carlos Acosta for his ‘Carlos Acosta and Guests from the Royal Ballet’ programme at Sadler’s Wells last April.

(The other nominees were Steven McRae for his performances in The Royal Ballet’s *Homage To The Queen* and Chroma at The Royal Opera House; Marianela Nunez for her performances in The Royal Ballet’s *Chroma* and The Sleeping Beauty at the Royal Opera House and in Carlos Acosta’s programme at Sadler’s Wells and Wayne McGregor for his choreography of The Royal Ballet’s *Chroma* at The Royal Opera House)

The Best New Dance Production award went to the The Royal Ballet’s *Chroma* (choreography by Wayne McGregor)at the Royal Opera House. (Other nominees were The Royal Ballet’s The Sleeping Beauty at The Royal Opera House; Kabuki *Fuji*_ Musume_ & *Kasane* at Sadler’s Wells and The Royal Ballet’s *DGV* at the Royal Opera House.)

Javier De Frutos won the Best Theatre Choreography Award for *Cabaret* at the Lyric Theatre, beating Rob Ashford for *Evita* _at the Adelphi; Bill Deamer for _*The Boyfriend* at the Open Air and Stephen Mear for _*Sinatra* _at the London Palladium.

For full details of other awards visit:

What’s On