News: National Dance Awards 2015

Thursday 29 October 2015 by Carmel Smith

National Dance Awards

The National Dance Awards – the only UK awards devoted solely to dance – will be announced at a lunchtime event at The Place tomorrow (Monday, 25th January 2016). The nominees (full list below) come from a long list of around 400 dancers, choreographers and companies nominated from across the membership of the Dance Section of the Critics’ Circle.

For the first time the Awards will feature on London Live News and on Twitter #NDA2015.

Announcing the nominees for this year’s awards, Chairman Graham Watts said:

“This year the list of nominees for the National Dance Awards is perhaps the most diverse ever with a spread of nominations both geographically and across dance forms.
It is an especially bumper year for Spanish dancers and choreographers with no less than nine Spanish nominees spread across seven categories, from flamenco, ballet and contemporary dance.
Canadian artists are strongly represented in the category for Best Modern Choreography with Crystal Pite and the creative team of Le Patin Libre being nominated. It is the first time that ice dance has figured in the award nominations.
Another first is that all four of the nominees for Outstanding Company are British-based with last year’s winner, English National Ballet, once more in the reckoning, alongside Candoco Dance Company, Matthew Bourne’s New Adventures and Northern Ballet.
It is also a good year for two veteran ballerinas with Sylvie Guillem and Alessandra Ferri each gaining a pair of nominations. Other dancers to receive two nominations are Israel Galván, Rocío Molina and Vadim Muntagirov, as does the Leeds-based choreographer, Kenneth Tindall.
In the modern dance categories, Richard Alston Dance Company, Lost Dog, Matthew Bourne’s New Adventures and Rambert are all represented and there are first-time nominations for Rosie Kay Dance Company and Igor and Moreno.
The Royal Ballet also enjoys another bumper crop of nominations with twelve in the dancer categories and two for best classical choreography; although there are also several nominations spread around Birmingham Royal Ballet, English National Ballet, Northern Ballet, Ballet Cymru and Scottish Ballet plus a first-time nomination for the South Korean Mariinsky-based dancer, Kimin Kim, for his guest appearances at the London Coliseum with the St Petersburg Ballet Theatre.
In its second year, the Emerging Artist Award has again attracted a mix of nominees from both performance and choreography.
The Awards Committee wishes to express grateful thanks to our sponsors, without whom the event would not be possible; to the body of dance critics across the UK for giving their time to ensure the best possible list of nominees; and, above all, the companies, choreographers and performers for giving us such a rich variety of choice”.


Tobias Batley (Northern Ballet)
Israel Galván (Compañía Israel Galván)
Steven Mcrae (The Royal Ballet)
Vadim Muntagirov (The Royal Ballet)
Edward Watson (The Royal Ballet)

Alina Cojocaru (English National Ballet)
Alessandra Ferri (Guest with The Royal Ballet)
Sylvie Guillem (Life In Progress tour)
Rocío Molina (Compañía Rocío Molina)
Marianela Nuñez (The Royal Ballet)

Candoco Dance Company
English National Ballet
Matthew Bourne’s New Adventures
Northern Ballet

2faced Dance
Ballet Cymru
Company Chameleon
Rosie Kay Dance Company
Shobana Jeyasingh Dance Company

Paco Peña, Fernando Romero, Angel Muñoz, Charo Espino & Carmen Rivas (Flamencura for Paco Peña Company)
David Bintley (The King Dances for Birmingham Royal Ballet)
Wayne Mcgregor (Woolf Works for The Royal Ballet)
Liam Scarlett (Age Of Anxiety for The Royal Ballet)
Kenneth Tindall (The Architect for Northern Ballet)

Mark Baldwin (Dark Arteries for Rambert)
Ben Duke (Paradise Lost [Lies Unopened Beside Me] for Lost Dog)
Rosie Kay (5 Soldiers for Rosie Kay Dance Company)
Le Patin Libre (Vertical Influences for Dance Umbrella)
Crystal Pite (Polaris for Sadler’s Wells)

Avatâra Ayuso (Choreographer & Performer, Ava Dance/ Shobana Jeyasingh Dance Company)
Matthew Ball (Dancer – The Royal Ballet)
Cesar Corrales (Dancer – English National Ballet)
Carlos Pons Guerra (Choreographer – Denada Dance Theatre)
Kenneth Tindall (Freelance Choreographer)

Lauren Cuthbertson (in Song Of The Earth for The Royal Ballet)
Alessandra Ferri (In Woolf Works for The Royal Ballet)
Francesca Hayward (in the title role as Manon for The Royal Ballet)
Laura Morera (as Lise in La Fille Mal Gardée for The Royal Ballet)
Eve Mutso (as Blanche Dubois in A Streetcar Named Desire for Scottish Ballet)

Matthew Ball (as Lensky in Onegin for The Royal Ballet)
William Bracewell (as Le Roi Soleil in The King Dances for Birmingham Royal Ballet)
Erik Cavallari (as Stanley Kowalski in A Streetcar Named Desire for Scottish Ballet)
Kimin Kim (as Siegfried in Swan Lake for St Petersburg Ballet Theatre)
Vadim Muntagirov (in Symphonic Variations for The Royal Ballet)

Sylvie Guillem (in Life In Progress)
Rocío Molina (in Bosque Ardora for Dance Umbrella)
Nancy Nerantzi (as Marie in Burning for Richard Alston Dance Company)
Zizi Strallen (as Lana In The Car Man for Matthew Bourne’s New Adventures)

Ben Duke (in Paradise Lost [Lies Unopened Beside Me] For Lost Dog)
Isráel Galvan (in Torobaka)
Igor And Moreno (for Idiot-Syncracy)
Dominic North (in the title role as Edward Scissorhands for Matthew Bourne’s New Adventures)
Liam Riddick (as Franz Liszt In Burning for Richard Alston Dance Company)

Once again the event will also play host to the De Valois Award for Outstanding Achievement and the Dance UK Industry Award, given in memory of Jane Attenborough, for both of which there are no prior nominations.

The National Dance Awards have been organised by the Dance Section of the Critics’ Circle in each year since 2000 and they celebrate the vigour and variety of Britain’s thriving dance culture. They are the only awards given by the body of professional dance critics in the UK. They are presented by the Dance Section of the Critics’ Circle, which brings together around 60 dance writers and critics.

Updated: 23 Jan 2016

Leave a comment

You must be signed in to post comments.

Sign in now

What’s On