News: National Dance Awards 2013

Friday 8 November 2013 by Carmel Smith

Rocio Molina - nominated for OUTSTANDING FEMALE PERFORMANCE -  MODERN. Photo: Felix Vazquez

The National Dance Awards 2013 will be announced at lunchtime today – see below for the nominees….

The nominations for the National Dance Awards 2013 have just been announced. Members of the Dance Section of the Critics’ Circle vote to decide the list. To qualify this year performances must have taken place in the UK between 31 August 2012 – 1 September 2013.

The winners will be announced at a central London venue on 27 January 2014. Announcing the nominations, Chair of the Dance Section, Graham Watts, said: “Last year, it was the turn of hip hop to come to the fore in the National Dance Awards and now, in 2013, it is flamenco that we honour amongst these nominees with no fewer than three nominations coming from the highly successful Flamenco Season presented by Sadler’s Wells. There is a distinctly international flavour to the nominations in 2013 with all four Outstanding Company nominees coming from overseas for the first time and more than half of all nominations honouring overseas companies or dancers based overseas. These short-listed nominees come from a long list of over 250 dancers, choreographers and companies and so the final shortlists are already very much the elite of 2013. The Awards Committee wishes to express grateful thanks to our sponsors, without whom the event would not be possible; and to the body of dance critics across the UK for giving their time to ensure the best possible list of nominees; and, above all, the companies, choreographers and performers for giving us such a rich variety of choice.”

Dane Hurst (Rambert)
Vadim Muntagirov (English National Ballet)
Sergei Polunin (Moscow Stanislavsky Ballet and guest artist, Royal Ballet)
Edward Watson (Royal Ballet)

Maria Kochetkova (San Francisco Ballet)
Natalia Osipova (Mikhailovsky Ballet and guest artist, Royal Ballet and Bolshoi Ballet)
Olga Smirnova (Bolshoi Ballet)
Eva Yerbabuena (Ballet Flamenco Eva Yerbabuena)

Boston Ballet
Mikhailovsky Ballet
San Francisco Ballet

Mark Morris (Beaux for San Francisco Ballet)
David Nixon (The Great Gatsby for Northern Ballet)
Alexei Ratmansky (24 Preludes for Royal Ballet)
Christopher Wheeldon (Aeternum for Royal Ballet)

Guilherme Botelho (Sideways Rain for Alias)
Matthew Bourne (Sleeping Beauty for New Adventures)
Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui ( Puz/zle for Eastman)
Russell Maliphant (Fallen for Ballet Boyz the Talent)

(This category is geared towards dancers who are younger or less prominent, and covers a single performance of any dance style rooted within a traditional codified language, eg ballet, flamenco or kathak)
Nancy Osbaldeston (for the ballerina in Petrushka for English National Ballet)
Cira Robinson (in War Letters for Ballet Black)
Akane Takada (for Olga in Onegin for Royal Ballet)
Yuan Yuan Tan (in RAkU for San Francisco Ballet)

Jeffrey Cirio (in Plan to B for Boston Ballet)
Israel Galvan (for flamenco performances at Sadler’s Wells)
Nicolas Le Riche (in Le Jeune Homme et la Mort for English National Ballet)
Brian Maloney (for Bratfisch in Mayerling for Royal Ballet)

Julie Cunningham (in New Works 2012 for Michael Clark Company)
Rocío Molina (in Danzaora at Sadler’s Wells)
Clemmie Sveaas (in Witch-Hunt for Bern Ballett)
Hannah Vassallo (for Aurora in Sleeping Beauty for New Adventures)

Nathan Goodman (in Madcap for Richard Alston Dance Company)
Christopher Marney (Count Lilac in Sleeping Beauty for New Adventures)
Liam Riddick (in Buzzing Round the Hunisuccle for Richard Alston Dance Company)
Paul White (in The Oracle for Meryl Tankard)

Ballet Boyz the Talent
New Movement Collective
Shobana Jeyasingh Dance

Grishko continuing as headline event sponsors as well, as sponsoring the Best Female Dancer Award, which is given in memory of Richard Sherrington; Dancing Times will continue its long-running arrangement to sponsor the Best Male Dancer Award and other sponsors continuing for a further year include Stef Stefanou, sponsoring both the Outstanding Company and Best Modern Choreography Awards; the Ballet Association for the Best Classical Choreography Award ; Lee McLernon for the Outstanding Female Performance (Classical) and the Critics’ Circle.

Sponsors are being sought for three awards – the Outstanding Male Performance (Classical), the Outstanding Male Performance (Modern) and the Outstanding Female Performance (Modern).

The event will also play host to the De Valois Award for Outstanding Achievement and the Dance UK Industry Award (given in memory of Jane Attenborough) , for both of which there are no prior nominations.

Photo: Rocio Molina – nominated for OUTSTANDING FEMALE PERFORMANCE MODERN – by Felix Vazquez

Leave a comment

You must be signed in to post comments.

Sign in now

What’s On