News: National Dance Awards 2010

Friday 5 November 2010

The finalists of the Critics’ Circle National Dance Awards 2010 have just been announced.
The National Dance Awards are the only professional awards in the UK dedicated to dance and are presented by the Dance Section of the Critics’ Circle, which includes more than 50 dance writers. The National Dance Awards were set up by the Critics’ Circle in 2000 to highlight the huge range of dance on offer in the UK.

The Royal Ballet and the Bolshoi dominate in the categories for Best Male and Female Dancer and the Royal Ballet’s Liam Scarlett, who at 24 is the youngest choreographer ever to have work performed on the main stage at the Royal Opera House, is nominated in the Best Classical Choreography section for his *Asphodel Meadows*. The Spirit of Diaghilev programme at Sadler’s Wells gets nominations for Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui (Faun , as well as Babel) and Russell Maliphant (*Afterlight)* – competing against Michael Keegan-Dolan for his *The Rite Of Spring* at English National Opera). Street dance makes its mark with nominations for ZooNation in the Outstanding Company category and for Tommy Franzen in the Outstanding Male Performance (Modern). Franzen is nominated for his parts in *Blaze* (Anthony Van Laast’s show at the Peacock Theatre and touring) and _*Goldberg* _(Kim Brandstrup’s collaboration with Tamara Rojo in the Linbury Studio Theatre), demonstrating his versatility without even needing a mention of his performances on BBC1’s So You Think You Can Dance, where he was also a finalist.

The winners will be announced on Monday 24 January 2011 at the awards ceremony in London.


The Dancing Times Award For Best Male Dancer
Steven Mcrae (Royal Ballet)
Sergei Polunin (Royal Ballet)
Ivan Vasiliev (Bolshoi Ballet)

Best Female Dancer
Alina Cojocaru (Royal Ballet)
Marianella Nunez (Royal Ballet)
Natalia Osipova (Bolshoi Ballet)

Best Classical Choreograpy
Kim Brandstrup (for Goldberg In The Linbury Studio Theatre)
Mikhail Messerer (for his revival of Vakhtang Chabukiani’sLaurencia‘ by *The Mikhailovsky Ballet a*t The London Coliseum)
Liam Scarlett (For Asphodel Meadows by The Royal Ballet)

Best Modern Choreography
Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui (for Babel And Faun In The Spirit Of Diaghilev programme)
Michael Keegan-Dolan (for The Rite Of Spring _a_t English National Opera)
Russell Maliphant (For Afterlight In The Spirit Of Diaghilev programme)

Best Foreign Dance Company
The Bolshoi Ballet
Danza Contemporanea De Cuba
Mark Morris Dance Group

Outstanding Female Performance (Classical)
Crystal Costa (English National Ballet)
Martha Leebolt (Northern Ballet)
Akane Takada (Royal Ballet)

Outstanding Male Performance (Classical)
Iain Mackay (Birmingham Royal Ballet)
Vadim Muntagirov (English National Ballet)
Thomas Whitehead (Royal Ballet)

Outstanding Female Performance (Modern)
Eulalia Ayguade Farro (Akram Khan Company/Hofesh Shechter Company)
Yoshie Sunahata (Akram Khan Company)
Pieter Symonds (Rambert Dance Company)

Outstanding Male Performance (Modern)
Tommy Franzen (freelance – Goldberg & Blaze)
Daniel Proietto (Russell Maliphant Company)
Nuno Silva (freelance – Arthur Pita’s God’s Garden)

Outstanding Company
Rambert Dance Company
Scottish Ballet
Zoo Nation

What’s On