News: Judging The Place Prize

Tuesday 24 August 2010

The Semi Finals for the next edition of the Place Prize are fast approaching (Thu 9 – Sat 25 September) and as the commissioned choreographers work on 16 new dance works, the judges for this first part of the prestigious contemporary dance competition have just been announced.

In previous editions of The Place Prize, judges have been drawn from across the spectrum of the creative arts, but this panel are all dance specialists. They are: Shobana Jeyasingh, choreographer, Artistic Director, Shobana Jeyasingh Dance Company; Sanjoy Roy, dance writer for The Guardian, New Statesman and other publications; Janet Smith, choreographer, Artistic Director, Scottish Dance Theatre
Alistair Spalding, Artistic Director and Chief Executive, Sadler’s Wells; Laurie Uprichard, Director, Dublin Dance Festival and Chair, Eddie Nixon, Director of Theatre and Artist Development at The Place. They will choose three of the finalists – with the fourth being the choreographer who receives the highest audience vote across the four semi finals, each featuring four works.

A new panel will judge the Final next year at The Place from 6 – 16 April 2011, where the four chosen choreographers will compete for £10,000 of audience voted prizes, with an overall winner, decided by the judges, taking home £25,000.

9 Sep – Preview 1 & 18 Sep – Semi Final 1
Pictured 1st row L-R: Dane Hurst, Freddie Opoku-Addaie & Frauke Requardt, Saju Hari, Vera Tussing

11 Sep – Preview 2 & 21 Sep – Semi Final 2
Pictured 2nd row L-R: Raquel Meseguer & Ben Duke (Lost Dog), Henrietta Hale, Robert Graham, Simon Ellis

14 Sep – Preview 3 & 23 Sep – Semi Final 3
Pictured 3rd row L-R: Conor Doyle, Darren Ellis, Eva Recacha, Vangelis Legakis

16 Sep – Preview 4 & 25 Sep – Semi Final 4
Pictured 4th row L-R: Deborah Light, Drew McOnie, Rachel Lopez de la Nieta, Riccardo Buscarini & Antonio de la Fe Guedes

What’s On