News: Jerwood Choreography Awards 2002

Friday 7 April 2006

Jerwood Choreography Awards 2002
The winners of the 2002 Jerwood Choreography Awards were announced and presented by Adam Cooper on Sunday 20 October at the Linbury Studio Theatre, Royal Opera House, Covent Garden, London.
L. to r. - Richard Alston [Chair, Judges] Maresa von Stockert, Rosemary Butcher, Roanne Dods [Director, Jerwood Foundation] Rachel Krische & Hilary Carty [Arts Council of England] Rosemary Butcher was awarded £17,000 and awards of £8,500 went to Maresa von Stockert and also to Ben Wright & Rachel Krische.

THe Awards Ceremony featured performances choreographed by past Award Winners Akram Khan, Charles Linehan and William Tuckett. Ralf Ralf were the Masters of Ceremony.

Pete Shenton together with Tom Roden & Robert Tannion were also shortlisted for the £17,000 Award and Hannah Gillgren and Mavin Khoo were shortlisted for the £8,500 awards.
The Jerwood Choreography Awards offer a rare opportunity to identify and celebrate the excellence and commitment of young dance artists in this country.

“Dance and drama are at the forefront of our support for the arts and young people. The Choreography Awards pump oxygen into the creation of new work and enthuse the young choreographers and their dancers.”
Alan Grieve, Chairman, Jerwood Charitable Foundation

The Jerwood Choreography Awards are a joint initiative between the Jerwood Charitable Foundation and the Arts Council of England. They are different from other awards in that they encourage a degree of experimentation to further choreographic development within a structured and supportive environment.

The Jerwood Charitable Foundation is dedicated to imaginative and responsible funding and sponsorship of the arts, education, design and other areas of human endeavour and excellence. As well as the Choreographic Awards the Jerwood Charitable Foundation supports a series of other initiatives including the Jerwood Painting Prize, the Jerwood Applied Arts Award and, with its parent foundation, the creation and support of the Jerwood Space in central London, a unique resource housing rehearsal facilities, the Jerwood Gallery and Café 171.

For the £17,000 Award, any choreographer based in the UK with five years professional choreographic experience was eligible to apply. For the £8,500 Awards, any choreographer aged 35 or under with three years professional choreographic experience was eligible to apply.

Dance Umbrella has been appointed Managing Agent for the Awards scheme and will provide moral and administrative support for the choreographers throughout the process.

Previous winners include:
Carol Brown, Yael Flexer, Philipp Gehmacher, Matthew Hart, Matthew Hawkins, Stephen Hughes, Akram Khan,
Charles Linehan, Liv Lorent, Henri Oguike, Tom Sapsford, Luca Silvestrini & Bettina Strickler, Ted Stoffer, Wlliam Tuckett, Jasmin Vardimon,
Fin Walker.

What’s On