News: Dance London Inspires! Awards announced

Wednesday 25 November 2015 by Carmel Smith

Emerging Choreographer: Carrie-Anne Ingrouille

The first Dance London Inspires! Awards event took place yesterday at the Conway Hall, with an audience of 120 dancers, choreographers and industry leaders.

Set up by Megan Preston, founder of Dance London, an organisation offering training and support services for emerging dancers focused on personal and professional development, the Inspires! Awards was launched at Move It, (the UK’s largest dance trade show, at Olympia earlier this year) to honour individuals who are making a contribution to the future of dance.

Over 11,000 made their nominations for the awards and took part in voting.

The evening showcased the work of four emerging choreographers, Zoe Marsh, Carrie-Anne Ingrouille, Anna-Lise Marie Hearn and Thomas Ashton – with Carrie-Anne eventually winning the Choreographer Award after a live audience vote.

Sup Dhanasunthorn collected the Change Maker Award (from sponsors Lululemon Athletica) for his work in creating The Hustle – a 30,000 strong group of artists. Research and development studio, Creation Box were awarded the Outstanding Studio Award and C12 Dance Theatre earned the Organisation Impact Award. The Inspirational Teacher Award went to Christie Lee Manning, who in her acceptance speech stressed the importance of the words teachers say to young dancers in their classes and ‘the responsibility they carry in impacting on the lives of individuals in order to empower the next generation’.

Farooq Chaudhry, producer with English National Ballet and Akram Khan Company (which he also co-founded) was a guest judge at the event. “It’s an honour to be in a room with so many change makers, it takes perseverance and determination to make a real change and we have been touched by the passion and authenticity of all the nominees here this evening,” he said.

Leave a comment

You must be signed in to post comments.

Sign in now

What’s On