News: Bonnie Bird Choreography Fund Awards 08

Tuesday 28 October 2008

The Bonnie Bird Choreography Fund Awards 2008 were announced at an award ceremony at the Soho Theatre last week (22 October).

New Choreography Awards of £1500 went to Seeta Patel, Efrosini Protopapa and Robin Dingemans to financially support and aid their choreographic practice or research.

The Marion North Mentoring Scheme has been set up to give new and emerging choreographers financial support to gain invaluable advice and feedback from established choreographers and dance artists. Awards for this year went to

TKieran Sheehan and Eleni Edipidi.

Daniel Larrieu received the 2007/2008 biennial International Award, which provides a commission for a choreographer to work with graduate dancers from Transitions Dance Company, based at Laban.

The Chris de Marigny Award was accepted on behalf of Soho Theatre by Esther Richardson, the Artistic Associate and Acting Writers’ Centre Director, for a collaborative project between writer Harold Finley and choreographer Benji Reid. This award is given in memory of the founding editor of Dance Theatre Journal – Chris de Marigny.

The awards were presented by Morag Deyes, Artistic Director of Dance Base, Scotland’s National Centre for Dance and Dr Marion North. Maggie Morris, who had been Chair of the Bonnie Bird Fund up until now, officially handed over to her successor Nicky Molloy at this years awards ceremony.


The Bonnie Bird Choreography Fund was established in 1985 to support and promote innovative choreographers in Britain, Europe and America. Bonnie Bird was a member of the original Martha Graham Dance Company and became one of the first recognised teachers of the Graham technique. On her 70th birthday, friends and colleagues from around the world gave generous donations to mark her 50-year involvement in dance and she responded by setting up the Bonnie Bird Choreography Fund, specifically to encourage the development of choreographers and dance writers in the early stages of their careers. Previous winners include Mark Baldwin, Matthew Bourne, Maresa von Stockert, Lea Anderson, Liz Aggis, Darren Johnson, Kwesi Johnson, Ian Bramley, Ben Duke, Sophie Travers, and Rosemary Lee.

What’s On