News: Bonnie Bird Awards 2005

Monday 5 December 2005

The 20th Annual Bonnie Bird Choreography Fund Awards took place last week at Laban.

The awards were presented by Stuart Hopps, choreographer for film, theatre and opera – and commemorative words on the wall of the theatre, marking the 20th anniversary, were unveiled.

The New Choreography Awards are aimed at supporting and nurturing new and emerging choreographers in the UK. Up to three separate awards of £1500 are made to financially support and aid choreographic practice or research. This year awards went to Temitope Ajose-Cutting, Ben Duke and Nguyen Ngoc Anh.

The Marion North Mentoring Scheme gives new and emerging choreographers the financial support to gain invaluable advice and feedback from established choreographers / dance artists. This years winners are Rajyashree Ramamurthi and Kerryn Wise.

The International Award is intended to support and nurture new and emerging choreographers in Europe and North America. This year’s recipient is Sarah Michelson

The Bonnie Bird Choreography Fund was established in 1985 to support and promote innovative choreographers in Britain, Europe and America. Bonnie Bird was a member of the original Martha Graham Dance Company, becoming one of the first recognised teacher’s of the Graham technique. She taught numerous dance luminaries, including Merce Cunningham, continually stressing the equal importance of practical and theoretical elements in the training of dance professionals. On the occasion of Bonnie Bird’s 70th birthday, friends and colleagues from around the world gave generous donations to mark her 50-year involvement in dance. She used these monies to establish the Bonnie Bird Choreography Fund.

The Fund aims to encourage the development of choreographers and dance writers in the early stages of their career. Previous winners include: Maresa von Stockert, Darren Johnston, Kwesi Johnson, Mark Baldwin, Matthew Bourne, Ian Bramley, Sophie Travers, Lea Anderson and Rosemary Lee.


What’s On