News: Bonnie Bird Awards 2002

Monday 11 November 2002

Bonnie Bird Choreography Fund Awards 2002
The Bonnie Bird Choreography Fund awards took place at the Cable & Wireless Room, Sadler’s Wells on Wed. 6 Nov. The awards were presented by Dr Marion North OBE, Principal and Chief Executive of Laban.

UK New Choreography Award (£1,500)
Jo Parkes, Stephanie Schober, Ben Wright

Marion North Mentoring Scheme
Bim Malcomson (Mentor: Rosemary Butcher, Director, Rosemary Butcher Company)
Errol White (Mentor: Janet Smith, Artistic Director, Scottish Dance Theatre)

Chris de Marigny Dance Writers’ Award (£1,200)
Catherine Willmore

European Award
Shani Granot and Cristian Duarte Shani and Cristian have been commissioned to create a new work for Transitions Dance Company.

The Bonnie Bird Choreography Fund was established in 1984 to support and promote innovative choreographers in Britain, Europe and America. Bonnie Bird was one of the original members of the Martha Graham Dance Company and became one of the first official teachers of Martha Graham’s technique – her pupils included Merce
Cunningham. On the occasion of Bonnie Bird’s 70th birthday, friends and colleagues from around the world gave generous donations to mark her 50-year involvement in
dance. Bonnie Bird used these monies to establish the Bonnie Bird Choreography Fund.
This year’s European Award winners, Shani Granot and Cristian Duarte acknowledged, during their acceptance speech, how the Bonnie Bird Choreography Fund Awards are “extremely important in providing diversity and knowledge flow, enriching our dance scene, allowing artists to meet, to share ideas and experiences.”

Maggie Morris, Chair of the Bonnie Bird Choreography Fund adds “the increasing number of applications we receive each year tells us that there is a real need for awards such as these, which support choreographers and writers but which are not outcome led. We were delighted by the rich mix of this year’s applicants and we are thrilled to be supporting these emerging artists.”

The Fund aims to encourage the development of choreographers or dance writers in the early stages of their career. Previous winners include: Darren Johnston, Kwesi Johnson, Maxine Doyle, Mark Baldwin, Matthew Bourne, Ian Bramley, Sophie Travers, Lea Anderson and Rosemary Lee.

For further information on the Bonnie Bird Choreography Fund please contact:
Fiona McPhee, Secretary
Bonnie Bird Choreography Fund
c/o Laban
London SE8 3DZ
Tel: 020 8691 8600
Fax: 020 8691 8400
Email: “”:

What’s On

Join us

Sign up for email updates from dance venues & companies, special offers, updates on new site features & to access our noticeboard, jobs & auditions.

Follow us

Keep in touch with us online